Skip to main content

APEC New Zealand's team

APEC 2021 will be one of the largest ongoing events held internationally of 2021. It will involve hundreds of meetings over multiple time zones. Dozens of people around New Zealand and the Asia Pacific have been involved in making this a reality. 

They are diplomats and officials, policy experts, tech experts, and every expert and jack-of-all-trades in between. 

Our People


APEC New Zealand's team

Andrea Smith
APEC New Zealand Deputy Secretary
Senior Officials' Meeting chair Vangelis Vitalis
Vangelis Vitalis
Senior Officials' Meeting chair
Kerry-Lynn Sorrell
Deputy Senior Responsible Owner
Mark Talbot
Divisional Manager, APEC Policy
New Zealand's Senior Official for APEC
Pete Cox 
Director, Virtual Experience
Deborah Jones
Director, Resourcing and Culture
Taria Tahana
Principal Adviser (Māori)
Stuart Gregory
Chief Technology Officer
Mark Gibb
Manager, Delegate Services
Cas Carter
Communications Director
Rose Northcott
Communications Manager
Sidah Russell
International Media Manager

APEC Business Advisory Council

Rachel Taulelei
New Zealand’s lead representative on APEC’s Business Advisory Council

CEO Summit

Barbara Chapman CNZM
CEO Summit Chair
Jonathan Alver
Executive Director, CEO Summit